Find out what your love language is

Love is unconditional

Love is unconditional- there are no limits or expectations. However, how many of you actually follow this? Do you have expectations for how your loved ones are suppose to love you. What is love to you? This is a term that I am still defining myself. Of course Corinthians defines love well: “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record or wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth, always protect, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails” (-Corinthians 13:4-8). Does this hold true to your heart?

Love language

So in love

A man named Gary Chapman came up with a way to identify your partners expectations and needs. He calls it, the five love languages. Have you ever wondered why you and your partner and not seeing eye to eye? Why cant she understand that I just need my space. Why cant he understand that I need more quality time? Why cant she understand that if she did some more work around the house it would help me out. Why cant he understand that I need his words of affirmation. Any of this sound familiar? These common relationship and marital miscommunications can be relieved by understanding your partners love language.

What are the 5 love languages?

According to Dr. Chapman, the five love languages are: Words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time and physical touch. Here is a breakdown of each love language.

  1. Words of affirmation: Spoken praise and appreciation is the way to go if your love language is words of affirmation. Your partner telling you how much he appreciates you and your efforts will fill your cup!
  2. Acts of Service: This is the opposite of words of affirmation. You can tell your partner until your blue in the face that you appreciate them and love them. This might actually anger them. If you loved them, then you would stop talking about it and do something to help such as do the dishes or run an errand.
  3. Receiving Gifts: Well this one is obvious. Get to giving those gifts! Your partner loves to hear you love them and sure they love when you do things for them. But there is something missing. The gifts! Gifts fill there heart and let them know you really love them and care. It doesn’t have to be expensive. It’s the thought that counts. A homemade card can easily fill your loved ones cup.
  4. Quality Time: Spending quality time with your significant other will be sure to let them know you care. Put down that phone and give your full attention to your partner. No interruptions, complete undivided attention.
  5. Physical Touch: Holding hands, kissing, massages, a touch as your partner walks by and time in the bedroom. All of these physical touches will let your partner know you are totally into them and that you pay attention to their relationship needs.

Take the…

What is your love language? You can take the quiz here:

Staying in tune with your partners love language will enhance your relationship and communication. Taking the time to invest in your relationship will not only strengthen it, but bring you closer as a couple. So, get to taking the quiz!

My quiz results have changed a bit over the years as my husband and I grow as a couple and our needs and wants change. Keep in mind just because your first love language is one thing. it doesn’t mean the other languages don’t apply to you.

Here are my results points wise out of 30. The higher the point, the more you gravitate towards that love language.

9-Words of affirmation

6- Acts of service, physical touch and Quality time!

3 receiving gifts